The Griffin Fire Department operates under the legislative authority of three fire commissioners, each elected to six-year overlapping terms. The Board of Fire Commissioners is responsible for establishing key policy, setting levies, developing and adopting the annual budget, reviewing and approving contracts, and appointing a fire chief.

The Board meets the second Thursday of each month at Station 13-1. The meetings are open to the public.

Changes to the meeting schedule and meeting agenda will be posted at Headquarter Station 13-1. Meeting Minutes are available by request; please call 360-866-9000 or email

Meeting Minutes

Next Board of Fire Commissioner’s Meeting: June 11th, 2020 @ 12pm

Meet Our Commissioners

Dave Pearsall, Chairman

Chief for the Thurston County Sheriff’s Office

Mike Peoples

Firefighter for W Thurston Reg Fire Authority

Meredith Hutchins

Attorney at Law